2021 mtv vmas

2021 MTV VMAs: Here’s the complete list of winners

Jade Kruger - 13.09.2021

The 2021 MTV VMAs were a big night for the new school.

The 2021 MTV Music Video Awards (VMAs) were iconic this year, from the outfits worn to the amazing performances.

Olivia Rodrigo stole the show with a great show of dominance. The Driver’s License, whose 2021 single was the most streamed song in January, walked off with three wins on the night.

“This has been the most magical year of my life and it is all because of you guys,” Rodgrigo reacted.

However, the night’s most-coveted win went to boundary pushing Pop sensation Lil Nas X who walked away with Video of the Year.

2021 MTV music video awards: Complete winners list

Here is a complete list of the winners:

Artist of the year

Ariana Grande
Doja Cat
Justin Bieber — WINNER
Megan Thee Stallion
Olivia Rodrigo
Taylor Swift

Video of the year

Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion, “WAP”
DJ Khaled, Drake, “Popstar” (Starring Justin Bieber)
Doja Cat ft. SZA, “Kiss Me More”
Ed Sheeran, “Bad Habits”
Lil Nas X, “Montero (Call Me by Your Name)” — WINNER
The Weeknd, “Save Your Tears”

Song of the year

24kGoldn ft. Iann Dior, “Mood”
BTS, “Dynamite”
Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion,“WAP”
Dua Lipa, “Levitating”
Olivia Rodrigo, “Drivers License” — WINNER
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic, “Leave the Door Open”

Best New Artist, Presented by Facebook

The Kid Laroi
Olivia Rodrigo — WINNER
Polo G

Group of the Year

Foo Fighters
Jonas Brothers
Maroon 5
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic
Twenty One Pilots

Push Performance of the Year

Wallows, “Are You Bored Yet?”
Ashnikko ,“Daisy”
Saint Jhn, “Gorgeous”
24kGoldn, “Coco”
JC Stewart, “Break My Heart”
Latto, “Sex Lies”
Madison Beer, “Selfish”
The Kid Laroi, “Without You”
Olivia Rodrigo, “Drivers License” —  WINNER
Girl in Red, “Serotonin”
Fousheé, “my slime”
Jxdn, “Think About Me”

Best Collaboration

24kGoldn ft. Iann dior, “Mood”
Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion, “WAP”
Doja Cat ft. SZA, “Kiss Me More” — WINNER
Drake ft. Lil Durk, “Laugh Now Cry Later”
Justin Bieber ft. Daniel Caesar and Giveon, “Peaches”
Miley Cyrus ft. Dua Lipa, “Prisoner”

Best Pop

Ariana Grande: “Positions”
Billie Eilish: “Therefore I Am”
BTS: “Butter”
Harry Styles: “Treat People With Kindness”
Justin Bieber ft. Daniel Caesar and Giveon, “Peaches” —  WINNER
Olivia Rodrigo, “Good 4 U” 
Shawn Mendes, “Wonder”
Taylor Swift, “Willow”

Best Hip-Hop

Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion, “WAP”
Drake ft. Lil Durk, “Laugh Now Cry Later”
Lil Baby ft. Megan Thee Stallion, “On Me (Remix)”
Moneybagg Yo, “Said Sum”
Polo G, “Rapstar”
Travis Scott ft. Young Thug and M.I.A.,“Franchise” — WINNER:

Best Rock

Evanescence, “Use My Voice”
Foo Fighters, “Shame Shame”
John Mayer, “Last Train Home” — WINNER
The Killers, “My Own Soul’s Warning”
Kings of Leon, “The Bandit”
Lenny Kravitz, “Raise Vibration”

Best Alternative

Bleachers, “Stop Making This Hurt”
Glass Animals, “Heat Waves”
Imagine Dragons, “Follow You”
Machine Gun Kelly ft. Blackbear, “My Ex’s Best Friend” — WINNER
Twenty One Pilots, “Shy Away” 
Willow ft. Travis Barker, “Transparent Soul”

Best Latin

Bad Bunny, Jhay Cortez, “Dákiti”
Billie Eilish, Rosalía, “Lo Vas a Olvidar” — WINNER
Black Eyed Peas, Shakira, “Girl Like Me”
J Balvin, Dua Lipa, Bad Bunny, Tainy, “Un Dia (One Day)”
Karol G, “Bichota”
Maluma, “Hawái”

Best R&B

Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, Saint Jhn, WizKid, “Brown Skin Girl”
Chris Brown, Young Thug, “Go Crazy”
Giveon, “Heartbreak Anniversary”
H.E.R. ft. Chris Brown, “Come Through”
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic, “Leave the Door Open” —  WINNER

SZA, “Good Days”

Best K-Pop

(G)I-dle, “Dumdi Dumdi”
Blbackpink, Selena Gomez, “Ice Cream”
BTS, “Butter” — WINNER
Monsta X, “Gambler”
Seventeen, “Ready to Love”
Twice, “Alcohol-Free”

Song of Summer

Billie Eilish, “Happier Than Ever”
BTS, “Butter” — WINNER
Camila Cabello, “Don’t Go Yet”
DJ Khaled ft. Lil Baby and Lil Durk, “Every Chance I Get”
Doja Cat, “Need to Know”
Dua Lipa, “Levitating”
Ed Sheeran, “Bad Habits”
Giveon, “Heartbreak Anniversary”
Justin Bieber ft. Daniel Caesar and Giveon, “Peaches” The Kid Laroi / Justin Bieber, “Stay”
Lil Nas X, Jack Harlow, “Industry Baby”
Lizzo ft. Cardi B, “Rumors”
Megan Thee Stallion, “Thot Shit”
Normani ft. Cardi B, “Wild Side”
Olivia Rodrigo, “Good 4 U”
Shawn Mendes, Tainy, “Summer of Love”

Video for Good

Billie Eilish “Your Power” — WINNER
Demi Lovato, “Dancing With the Devil”
H.E.R., “Fight for You”
Kane Brown, “Worldwide Beautiful” 
Lil Nas X, “Montero (Call Me by Your Name)”
Pharrell Williams ft. Jay-Z, “Entrepreneur”

Best Direction

Billie Eilish, “Your Power” (dir. Billie Eilish)
DJ Khaled ft. Drake, “Popstar” (dir. Director X)
Lil Nas X, “Montero (Call Me by Your Name)” (dir. Lil Nas X and Tanu Muino) —  WINNER
Taylor Swift, “Willow” (dir. Taylor Swift)
Travis Scott ft. Young Thug & M.I.A, “Franchise” (dir. Travis Scott)
Tyler, the Creator, “Lumberjack” (dir. Wolf Haley)

Best Cinematography

Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, Saint Jhn, WizKid, “Brown Skin Girl” (cinematography: Benoit Soler, Malik H. Sayeed, MOHAMMAED ATTA AHMED, Santiago Gonzalez, Ryan Helfant) — WINNER
Billie Eilish, “Therefore I Am” (cinematography: Rob Witt)
Foo Fighters, “Shame Shame” (cinematography: Santiago Gonzalez)
Justin Bieber ft. Chance the Rapper, “Holy” (cinematography: Elias Talbot)
Lady Gaga, “911” (cinematography: Jeff Cronenweth)
Lorde, “Solar Power” (cinematography: Andrew Stroud)

Best Art Direction

Beyoncé, Shatta Wale, Major Lazer, “Already” (art direction: Susan Linns, Gerard Santos)
Ed Sheeran, “Bad Habits” (art direction: Alison Dominitz)
Lady Gaga, “911” (art direction: Tom Foden, Peter Andrus)
Lil Nas X, “Montero (Call Me by Your Name)” (art direction: John Richoux)
Saweetie ft. Doja Cat, “Best Friend” (art direction: Art Haynes) WINNER
Taylor Swift, “Willow” (art direction: Ethan Tobman, Regina Fernandez)

Best Visual Effects

Bella Poarch, “Build a Bitch” (visual effects: Andrew Donoho, Denhov Visuals, Denis Strahhov, Rein Jakobson, Vahur Kuusk, Tatjana Pavlik, Yekaterina Vetrova)
Coldplay, “Higher Power” (visual effects: Mathematic)
Doja Cat, The Weeknd, “You Right” (visual effects: La Pac, Anthony Lestremau, Julien Missaire, Petr Shkolniy, Alexi Bailla, Micha Sher, Antoine Hache, Mikros MPC, Nicolas Huget, Guillaume Ho Tsong Fang, Benjamin Lenfant, Stephane Pivron, MPC Bangalore, Chanakya Chander, Raju Ganesh, David Rouxel)
Glass Animals, “Tangerine” (visual effects: Ronan Fourreau)
Lil Nas X, “Montero (Call Me by Your Name)” (visual effects: Mathematic) — WINNER
P!nk, “All I Know So Far” (visual effects: Dave Meyers, Freenjoy Inc)

Best Choreography

Ariana Grande, “34+35” (choreography: Brian Nicholson & Scott Nicholson)
Ed Sheeran, “Bad Habits” (choreography: Natricia Bernard)
Foo Fighters, “Shame Shame” (choreography: Nina McNeely)
Harry Styles: “Treat People With Kindness” (choreography: Paul Roberts) — WINNER
Marshmello, Halsey, “Be Kind” (choreography: Dani Vitale)

Best Editing

BTS, “Butter” (editing: Yong Seok Choi from Lumpens)
Drake, “What’s Next” (editing: Noah Kendal)
Harry Styles, “Treat People With Kindness” (editing: Claudia Wass)
Justin Bieber ft. Daniel Caesar, Giveon, “Peaches” (editing: Mark Mayr, Vinnie Hobbs)
Miley Cyrus ft. Dua Lipa, “Prisoner” (editing: William Town at Modern Post)
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic, “Leave the Door Open” (editing: Troy Charbonnet) — WINNER

U.S. Global Icon Award

Foo Fighters

Best Breakthrough Song

Masked Wolf, “Astronaut in the Ocean”
Claire Rosinkranz: “Backyard Boy” — WINNER
Bella Poarch, “Build a B*tch”
Yung Baby Tate ft. Flo Milli, “I Am”
Whoheem, “Let’s Link”

Best Comeback Song

Aly & AJ, “Potential Breakup Song” — WINNER
Destiny’s Child, “Bills, Bills, Bills”
Fleetwood Mac, “Dreams”
Simple Plan, “I’m Just a Kid”
Boney M., “Rasputin”
Missy Elliott, “Work It”